The Schlosshotel and Restaurant Goldener Engl in Hall are characterised by a long history, which dates back right to the year 1300 when the city walls of Hall were established and expanded. The walls steeped in more than 700 years of history are proof even today of how much history the Schlosshotel can boast. An extensive Gothic expansion of the property took place around the year 1450, from which the vaulted rooms found in the basement still exist until today. The Gasthaus Engl received its first listed documentation in the year 1629 and from 1644, expansion of the Baroque style was undertaken from top to bottom. A complete renovation of the inn took place in the late 1990s thanks to new ownership, the Messerschmitt foundation, which undertook repair works within a project for the regeneration of the historic centre, together with the municipality of Hall and the Austrian Federal Monuments Office.
The Schlosshotel Goldener Engl has been a member of the exclusive "Historic Hotels of Europe" group, a quality label for manor houses and country house hotels, since 2006. In addition to the proven historical background, members of this group must fulfil numerous criteria that guarantee the highest of quality and outstanding services.